The core properties of a content item described in the table below are shown in the front panel of the Properties widget:
|Title||The title of the content item. This is the string that appears in the title in the Editor.URL Title||The title to use in the friendly URL. For complete information on friendly URLs, see Search Engine Optimization (SEO).|
For web pages, you can specify a navigation title that differs from the title of the page. The navigation title appears in the website navigation in both the frontend and in the Workspace.
The title to use in the friendly URL. For complete information on friendly URLs, see Search Engine Optimization (SEO).
|Publication Status||If the content item is published, "Active" is shown with a green icon. If the content item is not published, "Inactive" is shown with a gray icon. You can change the publication status by clicking [Edit] and navigating to the Status tab in the Content Item Properties panel or using the Actions menu.|
|Workflow Status||The workflow status of the content item. See Workflow.|
|Versions||Shows the version of the content item that you are viewing ("1 of 2" for example).|
|Publication Date||The date the content item was or will be published.|
|Expiration Date||The date the content item expired or will expire (if any).|
|Language||The language version of the item.|
|Revision||Shows the highest (current) revision number of this content item. See Reverting a Content Item for more information.|
|Preview||Allows you to preview the content item as it appears on the website frontend. See Previewing a Content Item for more information.|
|Display On||The page on which the item is displayed.|
To access the rest of the tabs described in this section, click [Edit].
In This Topic
|Table of Contents|
Some of the properties described in this topic can also be viewed/modified using the Actions menu.
Search Engine Optimization (SEO)
Search Engine Optimization is not relevant for content items in XperienCentral Headless.
The Alternative URL setting was introduced in XperienCentral version R29.
For web pages, you can create an alternative URL that directly links to that page. A web page can have multiple alternative URLs. The advantage of an alternative URL is that you can make it whatever you want as long as it's unique and the link will lead directly to that page. Note that when a visitor follows the alternative link to the page, they will see the main friendly URL in the Address field of their browser and not the alternative friendly URL.
To add an alternative friendly URL, follow these steps:
- Enter a string in the "Add Alternative URL" text field.
- Click [Save]. The Alternative URL will be added and it will appear next to "This page is also available at URLs". Note that alternative friendly URLs will be standardized just as all other friendly URLs are and that is what you see in the Alternative URLs list.
To delete an alternative friendly URL, select the "Delete" checkbox to the right of it and then click [Save].
When upgrading to XperienCentral versions 10.13.0 and higher, the text in the "Lead" field, if any, is duplicated in the Meta Description field.
- Update frequency — Specifies how often Google Sitemap updates the index for the content item. Select the update frequency from the drop-down list.
- Priority — Defines the page's Google Sitemap priority. Select the priority from the drop-down list.
- Active — The content item version has a public workflow state ("Published" for example) and the current date/time falls within the publication and expiration date range and the version has the most recent publication date.
- Inactive — The content item version has a non-public workflow state ("Planned" for example) or its publication date is not the most recent.
- Expired — The content item version has a public workflow state ("Published" for example) and the current date/time is later than the expiration date.
- Scheduled for publication — The content item version has a public workflow state ("Published" for example) and the current date/time is earlier than the publication date.
- Content is modified.
- The workflow state is modified.
- A page or page section is moved.
- A content item is deleted.
Lead & Interaction
When upgrading to XperienCentral versions 10.13.0 and higher, the text in the Lead field, if any, is duplicated in the Meta Description field.
In the Versions tab you can see details regarding all versions of the content item that exist in the current language. The state of the current version is "Current version" ("Published") and the state of all other versions is "Draft". To switch to a different version of the content item, use the View All Versions command in the Actions menu. The table details which user created the version, its publication date and its expiration date (if any). For pages and page sections, you can also delete older, unpublished versions by selecting the checkbox next to it and clicking [Delete].
You cannot delete the current version of a content item.
The following applies to XperienCentral versions R29 and higher.
In the "Advanced" tab, you can configure a redirect for the current page.
- Permanent Redirect (301) - A (301) redirect permanently redirects to the target page or external URL and indicates to search engines that the old URL should be removed from their indexes.
- Temporary Redirect (302) - A (302) redirect temporarily redirects to the target page or external URL and indicates to search engines that they should read and use the content on the new page but should keep checking the original URL because the intention is to reestablish it at some point.
In the Design tab, you can select a different design template and/or style for the page or page section. This allows you to change the look and feel of the page or page section on the website frontend. To select a different design template for the current content item:
- Click the down arrow for the "Design Template" drop-down list.
- Select the new template for the page or page section from the list.
- Click [Apply] and then click [Close]. The change is immediately processed and you can see the effect in the Editor.
To select a different style for the current content item:
When selected, this page or page section requires HTTPS authentication in order to be viewed.
To use this setting, your website must be configured to use HTTPS. Contact your application manager for more information.
Specifies the default language for the page or page section on the website frontend. When a website visitor requests this page or page section, this is the language version they will view. To change the default language, select "Define other settings for this page or page section" and click [Save]. A drop-down becomes available from which you can select the default language version.
This setting applies to the page, not the page version. This means that if you change the language for a page, all versions of it will change to the selected language as well.
On the Read Access tab, you can see the current read access settings for the current page or page section. If you want to change the read access settings, select "Overrule inherited settings for this page" and then click [Save]. You can then assign a personalization to the page or page section which allows you to control which visitors have access to it.
- In the list of page sections, you can change the position where a page section appears on the page by modifying the number that appears in the drop-down list and then clicking [Save]. Where the page section appears depends on your design template. Contact your application manager for complete information about where page sections are designed to appear on a page.
- To remove a page section from the current page, select "Delete" and then click [Save].
Changing the Navigation Order
You can quickly and easily change the order that the sub pages appear in the page navigation structure using drag and drop. To do so, simply click on the title of a sub page with the left mouse button and keep the button depressed. Drag the sub page to the desired location in the navigation order and then let go of the left mouse button. The sub page is moved to the new location. Click [Save].
- Select "Define custom workflow model".
- Select the workflow that you want to base your custom workflow on from the drop-down list.
- Select the roles you want to assign to each activity. This allows you to define the number of XperienCentral users who can perform the available activities. Click [Save].
- You can modify the roles that are authorized to modify the custom workflow.
- Click [Save].